We’re holding out.

Our thermostat has sat in the OFF position for some time now. Eric and I are boycotting the heat. We have extra clothes. It’s cheaper than what the electric bill would be, should we decide to kick on the heat. Needless to say, it’s a chilly 62 degrees in here. I don’t know if you know what 62 degrees feels like in a home. It’s cold. We even have an upstairs. It’s cold up there, too. We sleep with 23 blankets on the bed and pray that we don’t wake up with icicles on our noses. Originally, we said we were going to try and make it without heat until Nov. 1st. Well, kiddos, that’s this weekend. It’s supposed to get pretty nice the next week or so (My weather-friends are saying 68 degrees on Election Tuesday!!!)

So, now, I have a new goal. Eric nervously laughed at me when I suggested it. “Let’s try and make it till Thanksgiving!!” I’m dreaming big… and I might sustain substantial frostbite in the process — but it’s worth a shot. Now, it’s more a matter of will. I’d feel like I’d be letting myself down if I switch that knob to “Heat: On.” We’ll see.

Heck, it’s pretty damn nice out today. just a tshirt and sweats coming out of the gym. I walked into my apartment… pretty sure it’s colder in here than it is outside. I actually walked outside… just to warm up.

Well, for a girl who sweats as much as I do (really, I do. I sweat. Like a man.)… the chilly apartment isn’t so bad.